NaBloPoMo

Besides November being Diabetes Awareness Month, it is also National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo).  So if you have been wondering why I am posting more than I usually do, that is why.  Leading up to November, I couldn’t decide whether or not I would participate but at the last minute, I decided to go for it.  I was worried about coming up with enough ideas to be able to blog 30 days in a row – I knew that it would be hard, but I did not realize how hard!

I do have a couple ideas that I can write about, but today is day 8 so I have 22 more days to go.  I actually have 6 ideas, so that means I need to come up with 16 more or do 16 more BS posts like this one!  And not BS in the way of blood sugar!  One thing I thought about writing about before is Dupuytren’s Contracture – it is a hand problem some diabetics have and I have it so why not write about it.  Another hand problem some diabetics get is trigger finger.  I have also had trigger finger.  Last week, I was reading Anna’s blog at Diabetes1 and she talked about cataracts.  I have had laser surgery for retinopathy and also cataract surgery so there are two more ideas (thanks Anna!). 

November 14th is the Big Blue Test day so that day will be easy.  The NaBloPoMo rules now allow you “easy” weekends and you can use pictures to tell your story on the weekends.  Since I planned to participate in Big Blue Test day and take pictures of my readings, that will be a fairly easy day to blog about.

It is hard to believe that in less than three weeks, Thanksgiving will be here.  I always start pulling up my Dickens’ village around Thanksgiving, so that will give me another idea to write about. 

Last week, I slept in the one day until 11 and that gave me the idea of writing about how nice it is being able to do that with a pump.  Hopefully, more ideas like that will pop up as the month progresses.  I do have an appointment with a new doctor coming up.  I also have an appointment for my foot.  Maybe I should ask that doctor if I can interview him or at least get a statement that I can quote about diabetes and foot problems – he specializes in wounds.  I guess I could also take some pictures of my Dexcom on Thanksgiving (on second thought, maybe I better not!).  Or I could take a picture of a plate filled with mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberries and pumpkin pie and have a carb guessing contest! 

If you don’t know about NaBloPoMo and want to check it out more, you can visit the site at www.nablopomo.com  Although November is the official National Blog Posting Month, you can submit your blog and blog for 30 days any month. 

And now it is time for my daily reminder to watch the Big Blue Test video.  Just think, this is the last week you have to read that!  Every click counts, so even if you have watched it before, please watch it again.  Manny is trying to get to 100,000 hits by Saturday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkLHgK94Z0E

 
stats for wordpress

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo

  1. I read today’s article about hand problems. It is 38 years of having diabetes. I’ve had 2 carpal tunnel sydrome surgeries, 8 trigger finger releases, and dupuytrns contracture. Duyuytren’s does not hurt. It causes lumps in the palm of the hand where the finger meets the tendons, which looks pretty ugly. It is more common in diabetics. Diabetes causes havic on the tendons and joints. Thiss is what many doctors tell me. The fingers tend to curl up towards the palm of the hand. I am avoiding the surgery as it is complicated and you would derinately want a very experienced doctor in that field. There would be plenty of cuts and the healing takes long. Remember, diabetes has these common effects in tendons. It’s a well known fact.

    • Hi Gail, I also have Dupuytren’s Contracture. There are a couple other options besides surgery that can be done for that. Unfortunately, in the US, there are not that many doctors that can do some of the treatments so that makes it hard for most of us to actually get treatment. I do have the lumps but the curling of the fingers is not that bad. I am planning on writing a full article next week about Dupuytren’s Contracture, so stay tuned for more about that!

Leave a Reply

