What Happened to Honesty?

I was raised to be an honest person.  It wasn’t something I really thought much about.  Being honest was just the right thing to do.  But more and more, I wonder about that – and I don’t wonder if it is the right thing to do, I know it is the right thing to do.  It just seems that honest people seem to be in the minority these days.  I have been told several lies recently and I am really starting to wonder about people.

Here is the definition of “honest” taken from www.dictionary.com:

1.  not given to lying, cheating, stealing, etc; trustworthy 

2.  not false or misleading; genuine 

The definition of lie:

1. a false statement made with deliberate intent to deceive; an intentional untruth; a falsehood.

2. something intended or serving to convey a false impression; imposture: His flashy car was a lie that deceived no one.

3. an inaccurate or false statement.

If someone hands me too much change, I hand it back – that is the right thing to do.  A couple months ago, we were really early for my foot appointment so we went to a McDonalds down the street from the doctor to get coffee.  When I went to get my wallet out of my purse, I found a $5 bill lying on the counter.  I gave it to the girl running the register because it was the right thing to do.  I could have easily used that $5 to pay for my coffee and no one would have known – except me.  I don’t know if the person that lost the money ever got it back, but I do know that money was not mine to keep.

About 2 years ago, I had doctors’ appointments in Pittsburgh two days in a row.  My sister took me for the first trip and we stopped at Wally World on the way to pick up a few things.  One of the things that I needed was glucose tablets.  After I got home, I could not find them in my bags.  I called my sister and she checked her car and they weren’t in her car.  I then called WallyWorld and they said to bring the slip in and they would reimburse me, which I did.  I had bought a bunch of yogurt and because I was tired when I got home, just stuck the bag on the shelf in the fridge.  I had looked in that bag at least twice and did not see the glucose in there.  However, when I finally went to take the yogurt out of the bag, I found my glucose tablets.  I took the money back to Wally World.  The clerk that had to process it seemed more annoyed with the fact that I was giving it back than I had asked for it in the first place.  When I told a bunch of people what had happened, it amazed me how people that I know said they would have just kept the money.

I can forgive a lot of stuff but lying is not one of them.  When people lie, you have to really wonder about their moral character and it is very hard to trust anything they say.  If someone screws up and makes a mistake, I can easily get past that but when they start lying about what they did, it just really ticks me off.  It just makes the problem worse than it was and like I said, you can’t believe anything they say in the future.
stats for wordpress

Leave a Reply

