Happy Thanksgiving

I hope everyone has a nice turkey day today.  I am sure that everyone has their carb counts figured out for potatoes, stuffing, pumpkin pie and all the other good stuff!  I know everyone has their own way of dealing with all the extra food, so whatever you do, just enjoy the day. 

This morning, I started writing this post and was thinking about my closing paragraph when I stopped to get my breakfast.  I had CNN on and decided to re-write most of what I wrote.  They were interviewing the author of a book called the 17 Second Miracle and were discussing taking a couple of seconds out of your day to be nice to people.  The CNN anchor Carol Costello made the comment that we live in a mean society – I had to laugh, but unfortunately, that is true.  This guy was not talking about doing big things for people but little stuff that only takes a second or two like holding a door open for someone, letting someone with only a couple items go ahead of you in the grocery line or letting someone out in front of you in traffic.  Sometimes that simple smile and saying hello to someone will help make that person feel better.

Thanksgiving is supposed to be about giving thanks.  I am a big believer in practicing the art of being grateful.  Different people have different ways of practicing that. Some people just say thank you a lot, other people write out lists every day stating the things that they are grateful for.  No matter how you want to do it, you should do it.

Stop and take a look at some of the people around you.  You may think that you have it bad, but I am sure you can find at least one person that would be glad to be in your shoes.  Right before I started HBO for my foot, I was starting to get frustrated with things.  It had been 1 ½ years since my ordeal started.  I was sitting in a wheelchair.  My wound was not healing and I could not see an end in sight.  When I started HBO, I met a guy that had been dealing with his wound for 3 years.  I had to stay in Pittsburgh during the week because it was too far to go back and forth every day.  It cost me a small fortunate to stay there for 12 weeks.  There was a guy in HBO that lived about an hour away.  He had to drop out because he was too sick to drive back and forth.  I had the money to stay there and also had my family to take me back and forth.  Even as bad as things seemed for me, I was actually one of the lucky ones there. 

I get frustrated with my foot sometimes but when I do, I stop and think about what I went thru to save my leg.  No matter what problems I have with my foot, I have my leg and I will take those problems over not having my leg.

I use a walker to get around, but I am able to walk.  I am able to walk across the street to get my own mail.  I can even take my own garbage out.  I moved out of my mother’s house into my own apartment before my foot was 100% healed so I was not able to put weight on my heel.  Believe me, it was a big deal when I was able to finally take my own garbage out!  At one point in my life, I would have given about anything to have someone take the garbage out for me, but now, I am extremely grateful that I am able to do it myself.

I also believe that something good always comes out of something bad.  When my Navigator broke, I was more than a little upset with how Abbott was dealing with it.  I did a trial of the Dexcom.  The Dexcom sales guy had several other people doing trials so he asked the Animas sales guy to let me use his unit for the trial.  I had been thinking more and more about getting a pump and Animas is the one that I was interested in getting.  When the Animas sales guy handed me his card and I saw Animas on the card, I knew that was the push I needed to get things going with the pump.  Had I not actually met the Animas sales guy, I might still be sitting here thinking I should start that process! 

So no matter what your circumstances, take a couple of minutes today to be grateful for the things that you do have and be nice to at least one person today!
stats for wordpress

Leave a Reply

