Diabetes Neuropathy Webinar / Panlab and Metanx Update

Last week, I wrote about the Diabetes Neuropathy Webinar put on by Panlab that I participated in. I was not very “nice” about the webinar. After I posted the article, the person from Panlab that presented the webinar sent me a message thru the Contact Kelly form on my blog. He said that was the first webinar that they did and he wanted to talk to me. He said that they were looking for ways to improve what they were doing. We set up a time to talk on Wednesday.

First, I owe him an apology. I was very quick to jump on two statements that he made during the webinar, but I did not bother to mention that he did a very good job in describing neuropathy and the progression of it. I was in a grumpy mood last week and still a little sore from falling down the stairs, so I should have waited a couple days before writing the article. I stated in my article that I like to put a positive spin on things, but my article certainly did not do that when it came to the webinar. I was wrong in doing that and I apologize.

I had a very good conversation with the person from Panlab. He told me that Panlab is a small, family-owned company. They cannot afford to do a TV commercial about Metanx so they are looking for ways to get the word out about it.

We also discussed the part of the webinar when he mentioned poor circulation as being the cause for neuropathy. I should point out that the Panlab website does mention other causes of neuropathy. He said that he was trying to keep the webinar simplified. I do agree that if you make things too complex, you lose the attention of participants.

In an interesting twist, last Friday I had an appointment with a new neurologist in Pittsburgh. She brought up neuropathy drugs and first brought up Neurontin and Lyrica. At one point, I had tried Neurontin but never made it to the dose my doctor wanted me on because I felt like a zombie. Although I know some people have had luck with Lyrica, I have also heard some bad things about it and really don’t want to try it. Plus, it mostly masks the pain and the pain I have is not horrible so I don’t see the point in trying it. After I dismissed both Neurontin and Lyrica, she brought up Metanx – Metanx is the medical food made by Panlab. I ended up leaving her office with some samples of Metanx.

When the neurologist brought up Metanx, I mentioned participating in the webinar and told her what I wrote on my blog. The one thing that bothered me the most was when he said that a neurologist would not know that the person had neuropathy because the tests generally run do not pick up the small fiber neuropathy that is present in the beginning stages of neuropathy. The neurologist told me that they often see patients with Type 2 that present with neuropathy before they are even diagnosed with diabetes. I do know that I have talked to several people online that were diagnosed with neuropathy prior to being diagnosed with diabetes – it is not as clear cut as I like to think it should be.

As I mentioned in my first article, I have very good circulation. I have never explored treatment options for poor circulation. I decided to Google Vitamin B and poor circulation and I did discover that Vitamin B also helps with poor circulation.

I also read some of the comments about Metanx on some neuropathy message boards. Like most things, there are people that like it and people that don’t.

Panlab has a ValueCard RX program that offers discounts. You can check that out here.

I would just like to add that I am not being paid by Panlab to promote their product. Prior to my signing up for the webinar, I had not even heard of Panlab or Metanx. Although I have a sample, I have not tried it yet and am not commenting on whether it works for me or not. As I said in my original article, Vitamin B did help me with the pain from neuropathy. I have neuropathy and I know what it feels like to live with that. If there is something out there that can help people deal with neuropathy without turning them into a zombie like some of the current treatment options do, then I would like to share that. I am of the opinion that just because something works or does not work for me, you may have the opposite experience that I do. If you have neuropathy and are looking into different treatment options, it might be worth checking into Metanx.
stats for wordpress

Leave a Reply

