Gluten Free Pizza

A couple weeks ago, I was looking for something online and saw a recipe using gluten free Bisquick. I decided to order some and try making pizza. I read that it was available in Walmart but it was not showing on their website. When I was in there one day, I decided to look for it and found it. I went ahead and bought a box since my order had not arrived. My sister and her husband were coming to help me with something so I thought I would entertain Brandon by making pizza while they were working.

Although it certainly was not the best pizza I ever had, it was not the worst either. Brandon said he liked it, but maybe he was just being polite. The recipe called for making it on a 12 inch pizza pan and I did not have a pizza pan. I put it in a cake pan and because it seemed thin, I did not spread it the whole way. The crust rose higher than I was expecting and I prefer thin crust pizza, but the taste was not that bad. Next time, I will either break down and buy a pizza pan or spread it out the whole way.

I added up the nutrition information on a spreadsheet to calculate calories and carbs. Each slice had 203 calories, 15 grams of carbs, 7 grams of protein and 14 grams of fat. Of course your mileage will vary depending on what toppings you use. I was kind of surprised because I really expected the carb count to be a lot higher.  The recipe for the crust is on the box if you are interestedi n trying it.

Before going into the oven:

After cooking:

Where is the beer?


stats for wordpress

6 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pizza

  1. Hey Kels – I used to work with a lady who had celiac. She could not even make her son a sandwich without wearing gloves. Seems like gluten-free products are showing up more ad more on the grocery shelves.
    I am finally feeling better. Still very weak because my hemoglobin is so low and will take a bit of time to build back upl
    Have a great weekend.

    • I know some people have to be very careful about touching stuff like shampoo and hand cream that has gluten in.

      I am glad that you are feeling better. I hope that you get your strength back soon. After reading your story, I don’t think I will ever trust another person that waves me on. I am really glad that you were able to get to the hospital in time.

  2. Kelly:

    If you’re looking for a great gluten-free pizza dough recipe, try this one:

    http://www.food.com/recipe/gluten-free-pizza-crust-44487

    The texture, flavor, and consistency is *very* close to “real” pizza dough. We use garbanzo bean flour and tapioca flour. I also use garlic infused olive oil and add a little garlic powder and parmesan cheese to the dough. We have made this pizza dough several times and our 5 year old daughter has not known the difference! FYI, it doesn’t need to be baked as long as the recipe says after you add the toppings – we burned the first one. Bake for about 12 minutes after adding toppings and then check to see if you would like to cook it longer. This dough is actually easier and quicker to prepare than regular pizza dough. Also, you want to be able to spread the dough fairly thin – I don’t think it would work well as a “deep dish” pizza – so you may want to consider buying a pizza pan for this one. 😉 Be sure it’s non-stick or you spray the pan well – we made that mistake once!

  3. I don’t have a pizza pan anymore – and I know that cuz I just finished emptying out kitchen cabinets, scrubbing and then putting everything back.
    Your pizza looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

