Percentage of Non Compliant Diabetic Type 1 Patients 2011

Kelly Booth blog stats non compliant searchI looked at the stats to my blog this morning and saw the search term, “percentage of non compliant diabetic type 1 patients 2011.” Well, if you listen to Wendell Fowler, then I guess 120% of us are! Seriously though, I hate that term. I wrote a previous article about the term noncompliant and called it an evil word.

If you are a patient trying to figure out if you are in the minority of those dubbed noncompliant, no, you are not alone. My question to you is, is it that you just don’t care or is it that you just don’t know what to do? Although I know there are people that don’t care, I do believe that the majority of the people dubbed noncompliant just don’t know what to do and get little help from their doctors.

The good news is, if you are searching for information online, you are on the way to figuring out some of the things you need to do. There are plenty of people writing blogs that share their struggles and share tips of the things they have learned help them. Maybe because I grew up left handed in a right handed world, I am a big believer in the fact that just because something works for you does not mean it will work for me and vice versa. The more ideas that you get, the greater the chance that you will find something that will work for you.

Join an online community like TuDiabetes or Diabetes Daily – over 20,000 people belong so whether you just read posts without joining or post a question, you will learn a lot. There are books like Using Insulin by John Walsh (or Pumping Insulin if you pump) and Think Like a Pancreas by Gary Scheiner. Those books will teach you how to do basal testing, figure out carb ratios and correction factors – all things that your doctor most likely never discussed with you.

If you are a doctor or nurse searching to see how many noncompliant people are out there, then SHAME ON YOU! Have you actually tried to help your patient? Do you understand that we are all different and just because one of your patients has success doing something one way does not mean all your patients will. Just because it does not work does not mean that they are noncompliant. It means you need to look for a different solution.

Have you asked your patient if they would be willing to do basal testing? If their basals are not set correctly, the rest of what they are trying to do is sitting on a faulty foundation and will cave in. Are you using a sliding scale from the dark ages or have you taught your patients how to do carb counting and adjust their insulin doses accordingly? Do you believe that Lantus is a once a day insulin or have you suggested your patients try splitting their dose into twice a day? Have you suggested trying Levemir if Lantus doesn’t work or do you believe that Lantus and Levemir are the same? Does your patient show signs of having gastroparesis but yet you think that their blood sugar should be perfect? Do you actually listen to what your patients try to tell you? Have you read sites like TuDiabetes or Diabetes Daily to get a feel for what we go thru on a daily basis?

Most of all, quit using the word “noncompliant,” it is an evil, evil word and it is NOT helping your patients by calling them that.
stats for wordpress

6 thoughts on “Percentage of Non Compliant Diabetic Type 1 Patients 2011

  1. I have to agree that I have learned more from other diabetics than from the medical professionals. But it took initiative to seek it out, and many people don’t have that initiative, believing that whatever their docs say must be right. And then there are those that don’t have the resources to get online, and those that don’t have the education to benefit from the DOC. I REALLY wish the medical profession would listen to us once in a while!

    • Besides initiave to seek it out, a lot of people just don’t know where to look. When I was working, I was working 10-12 hour days plus weekends so I had little time to get online. Had I been able to, my life would be totally different right now! I have one doctor that listens but he is in the minority.

  2. True if someone is searching for non compliant diabetic then chances are they are looking for something else entirely, I hate the term too by the way, that having been said It is sad that there are people out the who choose to ignore their diabetes and I am talking from personal experience (my ex’s mom was a diabetic and she didn’t care as much as I tried to convince her to treat it) so yes there are those non compliant diabetics out there and they do give us a bad name.

  3. Love it! Damn right! My endo put me on sliding scale and Lantus once daily. I had to figure out on my own from DD to split the dose and run it up until I had a good fbg in the morning. Now I have better control over my daily doses but no “professional” in the medical field taught me. I learned from others who share their stories and troubles. Thanks for a simple and needed post.

Leave a Reply

