10 Things You Probably Did Not Know About Me

1.I always had curly hair and as a kid, I hated it. When I was about 4, I decided to take matters into my own hands and cut the curls off. I guess after I cut it, I figured I would probably get in trouble so I hid the hair under my bed thinking no one would know. Don’t forget, I was only 4! Kelly Booth 1st grade picture Kelly Booth 2nd grade picture


.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

2.  When I was in high school, the movie Slapshot, starring Paul Newman was filmed in Johnstown. As part of the movie, they held a victory parade for the hockey team in the movie and invited bands in the area to march in the parade. I was in the color guard so marched in that parade. The majorettes from our band did have a very brief shot in the movie. I made it to Hollywood’s cutting room floor!

3.  Yorkshire Terrier My first Yorkie was named Sugar. I am not the one that named her.

4.  Not too long after I got out of college and moved to the DC area, the Rolling Stones were doing a US tour. Because of problems in other areas, they decided to not announce when tickets were going to go on sale. I couldn’t sleep one night and turned the radio on – it just so happened that Stones tickets went on sale. Someone called in and said no one was in line at the Cap Center. As soon as it got light out, I went to a phone booth and called my cousin – she was ready to kill me for waking her up but the first thing out of my mouth was “do you have money.” She picked me up and we went for tickets. The tickets we had were sold as obstructive view because the Cap Center did not know how the Stones would set up the stage. We were at the front end of the stage about 16 rows up. Perfect seats!
Ronald Reagan

5.  When Ronald Reagan was elected President, his campaign office was in the building next to where I worked in DC. While he was still President-Elect, he went to his campaign office to thank the people that had worked for him. Because of all the security involved, they closed off the block and notified all the businesses on the block that he was coming. Almost everyone in my office went down to see him except me and one other person. I did not particularly like him at the time and had no desire to see him. He stopped and shook hands with a lot of the people waiting to see him. I was 21 at the time and now that I am a couple years older, I could kick myself for not going down.

6.  In 1984, the movie The Killing Fields was released. The movie was based on two journalists’ experiences in Cambodia. My bosses wife at the time worked for Catholic Charities and they sponsored a private showing of the movie which was to be hosted by Bob Dole and Teddy Kennedy. I was sitting at the far end of the aisle where Teddy Kennedy walked past and was about a foot from him.
Bruce Springsteen Ticket from 1984

7.  I stood in line overnight for Springsteen tickets and did not get them! I did get to see him several other times though.  Notice the price on that ticket – probably need to add another zero to that number to see Springsteen today!

8.  I tell time backwards.Kelly Booth left handed clock

9.  My favorite color is peach and my least favorite color is blue (does that count as two?).

10.  Although I had a lead foot, I technically never had a speeding ticket. I had at least one written warning and several lectures. The only time a ticket was involved, the cop wrote it for reckless driving (I told him I wasn’t paying attention). He said that the fine was cheaper and I wouldn’t get any points.
stats for wordpress

4 thoughts on “10 Things You Probably Did Not Know About Me

Leave a Reply

