Complications Reversed?

A month or so ago, I read a conversation on TuDiabetes that someone said that they were doing a treatment that reversed her kidney problems.  She sounded like an advertisement for it, but someone else that I respect responded and said that she had heard of that treatment.  Curiosity killed the cat, so I decided to Google it.

The treatment is called metabolic activation therapy (MAT®) or pulsatile intravenous insulin therapy along with several other names.  It has been shown to reverse gastroparesis, neuropathy, blood pressure problems, hypo-unawareness, eye problems and kidney problems.  Before you get too excited like I did, treatment is very expensive and is not covered by a lot of insurance companies.  It costs about $25k per year so unless you are independently wealthy or have an insurance company that will cover it, it is not affordable to most of us.

Basically, you receive insulin via an IV for a 6 hour session, which is done weekly.  Things like gastroparesis show improvement right away but peripheral neuropathy takes longer.  Unfortunately if you stop treatment, the complications will most likely return.

I think that the best way to explain how it works is to just copy that from the FAQ page of the Aoki Diabetes Research Institute.  Read can the whole FAQ page here.

7. How do MAT® treatments work?

A MAT® treatment involves delivering insulin intravenously in a pulsatile fashion using a special pump over a 6-hour period. The pulses deliver a higher, more physiologic concentration of insulin to the liver than are delivered by traditional subcutaneous injections. This higher level of insulin available to the liver stimulates liver cells to synthesize glucokinase and other insulin-dependent enzymes necessary for normal dietary glucose processing and homeostasis.

This improved metabolism is measured by the patient’s respiratory quotient (RQ). RQ is a measure of the success of tissues in using oxygen and burning fuel. During the 6-hour session, the RQ increases toward normal levels. (See Physiology )

Over many months glucose metabolism returns to a more normal pattern and is maintained there by weekly MAT® treatments. The metabolism of many other tissues also improves, permitting more normal glucose control, more normal blood pressure control, and the repair of some complications of diabetes.

Since I am not expecting any rich relatives to die and leave me their fortunes, I guess I better start playing the lottery.  This sounds like a dream come true that I can’t afford to get!
stats for wordpress

6 thoughts on “Complications Reversed?

  1. Leave it to you Kelly to post an informative blog about a new procuedure that I’ve never heard of. I bow to you humbly with opening my eyes up to new things in the world of diabetes. Like Natalie is saying – over time we can improve any conditons that we may have suffered from long term diabetes – but it’s not a quck one like this ones appears to be – or as expensive. Sad like you say Kelly about the expense of it. I couldn’t afford it. I’m going to bring this up with my endo next time I see him and see what he says. If you don’t mind – I’m going to repost your blog on my Facebook page – The Roller Coaster Ride of Diabetes – it’s too good not to share with everyone!!!

    • Thanks Anna. I just happened to be in the right place at the right time! I don’t think there are too many of us that can afford it. Go ahead and share away – there more we share & spread the word about stuff, the better it is for all of us.

      • Kelly,
        I am that women you read about. This is a clinical trial. the official document can be located: http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT01023165?term=Global-infusions&rank=1

        It is not a quack treatment. I have gone from being almost bedridden, to bike riding. Medicare did pay for this until just before I started. We need people in the study. I can ot afford it either, but, I understand that in CA there are at least two clinics, one in Newport Beach and one in Roseville. I am also told some insurances do cover the treatment, and in Northern CA, I am told Medicare covers it, too. In CA, I think the call it Artificial Pancreas Thretment.
        We as citizens of these United States, have a right to a good quality of life.
        For people with CKD and /or ESRF, this is urgent.
        This treatment much less that dialysis, the treatment hs proven it can keep patients out of dialysis, with better quality of life for at least 4 years. That is as long as the trial lasted in Florida.
        This trial is in phase three. They have treated over 4000, with no adverse effects.
        This is not a new drug a pharma company is pushing. There are no antirejection drugs to fry your kidneys. Patients with any kind if renal complicatons do not qualitfy for islet transplants. Medicare pays for islet and kidney transplants.
        More clinics for this study are needed. They can set a clinic up anywhere, just need a doctor to support it.
        Write to your congressmen and women, COmplain to medicare, if they get 15 letters complaining on the same treatment, they have to investigate. Dr. Aoki, in CA has treated many medicare patients, billed medicare, were declined, appealled and won ! Ask you doctors to go to global-infusions.com of call 800-531-2698. There are doctors coming to the home clinic every week to get the grand tour and the facts. One happy side effect of tis treatment is weightloss. I was a size 14, now a size 6. I would be more that happy to share more and keep your audience updated. I understand an official from medicaid, in tis state, is coming to see the procedure, in the near future. There is hope, hang in there and help bring awareness to this project, By preventing, just the people who would start dislysis this year, I have calculated that medicare will save $330 million, this year.

      • Thank you for posting the link to the clinical trial!

        I did not think that it was a quack treatment – I think that it is very interesting & I wish that I could afford to do it. I did look at the trial page and it is not close to where I live. On Dr. Aoki’s website, it states that as of December 2010, Medicare will not pay for the treatment so that is where I got my information that it is not covered by Medicare. That is listed on the news section of his site.

        You state that Dr. Aoki treated the patients, billed Medicare and then appealed the denial. I am a very big believer in appealing to insurance companies to get what you need covered, however, I won’t do a treatment unless I know for sure it will be covered in advance. Otherwise, that makes me responsible for for what the insurance won’t pay. If it is not something I can afford to do, then I won’t do it. That leaves me out for this treatment.

  2. Actually, I have heard of that before, too. When I read about it, they weren’t suggesting it reversed complications, but that it did improve BG stability. And Dr. Bernstein also says that stabilized, “normal” BGs reversed HIS complications, too. So I’m not writing it off, but what good is a medical treatment that is inaccessible? It’s unfortunate that it’s too late for you to prevent complications, but for the young and newly diagnosed, I find it tragic that they get so little support in ways to stabilize BGs, because prevention is a much better answer.

    • Hopefully some day it will get recognized by insurance companies, but if it remains so expensive, I doubt that will happen. I agree that Bernstein reversed his complications with normal BS. It took him 14 years to reverse his gastroparesis. I don’t know if his neuropathy was to the point mine was though. Prevention is the key for people that are newly diagnosed or haven’t been hit with complications yet, but for some of us, this treatment is literally life or death when you have complications that can kill you long before you can get them reversed!

Leave a Reply

