Don’t Judge

This past week, several conversations came up that involved judging people. Tuesday night in particular, I was made to feel like a slacker by someone that knows nothing about me or what I do.

I want you to take a look at a picture and be honest about what you think:

Dexcom Rollercoaster

Stop and think about what you saw before you scroll down and look at another picture.

Down Arrow
Down Arrow
Down Arrow
Down Arrow
Down ArrowReady?
Peanut Butter Meltaway Cake

Did that picture confirm what you were thinking? How about if you scroll down some more and see a different picture.

Down Arrow
Down Arrow
Down Arrow
Down Arrow
Down Arrow
What if it was this picture instead of a piece of cake?

Burning House

Stress causes blood sugar problems. Could the stress of watching your house burn down been the cause? Did you even think that?

Actually it was not the cake nor was it stress. It was this:

Prescription bottle

I know because that picture belonged to me and I know exactly what happened. I had an infection and between the infection and the antibiotic that I was on, my blood sugar went for a rollercoaster ride.

You are seeing only one little piece of the picture so don’t judge. Stop and think before speak.

16 thoughts on “Don’t Judge

  1. The first thing I thought is that the 24 hour screen on the Dexcom always looks like peaks and valleys of a mountain range even when my 3, 6, and 12 hour screens look fairly level. So except for the tops of the highest peaks and the bottoms of the lowest valleys, I find the 24 hour screen fairly worthless.

    The second thing I saw is that you had some wicked highs that I know that you’re usually very good at avoiding. I assumed the lows were the result of some over-correcting. But sh*t happens and that’s the way it goes sometimes. Hope everything is better.

    • Thanks Lathump! You are right, the 24 hour screen looks more like a mountain range. That pic was actually from April, so everything has long settled down. I can’t remember for sure, but I wouldn’t doubt the lows were from over-correcting.

  2. What popped into my mind was “gosh, my trends probably look like that a lot of the time”.
    Stuff happens. Stuff that we have no control over. And, if somebody chooses to be judgmental, then they can go stick their head in a snowbank (flurries predicted here tomorrow!)
    Last weekend we had the ADA Expo here in town – it was fun. Then those who were available met up on Sun night at the Mall of American. One of the people was Lloyd Mann. He referred me to an article in Forecast where he was featured. Well, wouldn’t you know it, I scrolled down and you were too! It was so cool. I immediately got back to him and said “Kelly Booth is a friend of mine…..) So proud to know you. You are intelligent, creative and determined. In honor of all your attributes, I am going to leave you a little musical tidbit on your TD page.

    • Thanks Kathy! I love Springsteen, thank you! There is a lot of stuff happens that we don’t have control over – I wish more people would understand that. You are right, I should just tell them to stick their head in a snowbank. I heard something about flurries but I am not sure if we will get it or not.

      I thought I recognized the name Lloyd Mann! That is great that you got to meet him. I hope there are some events on the east coast that I can meet some people. I have a fear of flying so all the west coast ones are out for me! I saw your blog with all the goodies you brought home from it.

  3. I hate the haters :). I will tell your this; we are a lot more compassionate towards people and their ailments since my daughter was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. We were never rude or judgmental, but we did not always give a second thought to people’s struggles, especially those that are not outwardly apparent. Things have changed.

    • You are right Matt, it does make us more compassionate! I was like you and wasn’t rude or judgmental, but I didn’t stop to think about someone was going thru either. i do now!

  4. That’s the problem with “invisible” diseases. No one has a clue what you are going through. Hypos are invisible if you don’t sweat a lot, get goofy or pass out, but they still feel awful. Highs are invisible — no one knows why you are swishing your mouth around to try to stimulate saliva, or why you are swigging on water — lots of people do that, but don’t have YOUR reason! I get groggy with highs, but no one knows that. So yeah, we may appear to be “normal” (whatever that is), and get judged by ignoramuses, and we need to get the truth out. Just because there are diabetic superstars and celebrities and athletes doesn’t mean we (or they) are not struggling!

    • Agreed Natalie. Most people really have no clue what we go thru and don’t realize that something is off. I am glad that you are helping to get the truth out – we need everyone to speak up and scream it from the top of their lungs!

  5. Actually, what popped into my mind was “another sucky day with insulin” – I see far too many graphs like that with no reason whatsoever! ..and yet a friend of mine saw one of my ancient blog posts with a seven day overlapping graph that looked like a bunch of scribbles and said “but thats all fixed now that you are on the pump, right?” Yeah, right. I told her no, that was every day of my life, and the life of most people on insulin…

    Hopefully the antibiotics will bring you back to “normal” levels of chaos.

    • Thanks Val. That is the “fun” part of diabetes, no reason whatsoever! It drives me nuts when you do the exact same thing and have really good results one day and a nightmare the next. I think a lot of people think like your friend that the pump will change everything – it just adds new things to rule out in the mix.

      The infection was actually back in April so it is long gone now. Thanks!

      • It must have been a moment of clairvoyance for both of us…Just after I replied to your post, my dexcom startup went off… and showed I had climbed from 140 to 480 in just two hours! Further investigation revealed all my breakfast/basal insulin apparently sitting in my cartridge well, rather than actually being pushed through the tubing and into my body. Yay pump – not! Looks like Animas does not have all the bugs out of their cartridge QA process yet…

      • Sorry to hear that Val. I hope you are able to get your BS down without too much grief – I know that feeling all too well. I hope it is just the cartridge and not a problem with the whole pump.

      • My T1 BFF calls this the Diabetes Fairy paying a visit. Well, she usually calls her the Effing Diabetes Fairy, to be honest and she’d been coming to see me lately, too. Boo Hiss.

Leave a Reply

