Obesity, Type 2 Diabetes, Amputations and Fake Ads

Last night, I read an article about New York City’s latest shock and awe ad campaign. The ad is shown below and you can read the Boston.com Daily Dose article that I read here.

NYC Obesity Ad

Before I start on my little rant here, I wanted to share two other articles. Sysy of The Girls Guide to Diabetes wrote about the ad here. Riva Greenberg of the Huffington Post wrote a previous article about diabetes shock and awe campaigns that you can read here. Both articles are well worth reading.

I agree with what both Sysy and Riva wrote in their articles. This ad is just wrong in very many ways. I don’t like the fact that the person in the picture is not even an amputee, the picture was altered to make him appear to be an amputee. Although I don’t like it, that is not my “main” dislike here. What bothers me is the misinformation out there about amputations. As you may be aware, I went thru my own foot crisis and almost lost my leg.

As pointed out in the Daily Dose article, amputations have been cut in half. Like other complications, they have decreased because of better care. Not just better care with diabetes, but better treatment options with wound care. I was told that had I gone thru what I did with my foot even five years before I did, I would have lost my leg. Although I have cadaver bones in my heel, I have my leg today.

A lot of us get upset because of the misinformation going around about diabetes. I get upset about that too. Because I have been thru a foot wound, I also get upset with misinformation about diabetic foot wounds. About a month ago on Facebook, a mother in one of the diabetes groups made the statement that her endo told her that she did not have worry about foot care because only “overweight, Type 2s with poor circulation” had problems. I have seen numerous people online mention that “only Type 2s have problems” or “only people with poor circulation” have problems.

I know for a fact those statements are not true because I have personally lived thru a foot wound. I am Type 1 not Type 2. Although I did gain weight during the course of my wound, I was not overweight when it started. I was not able to move around and was only eating 1200 calories a day but gained weight because I could not exercise. Although I have neuropathy, I still have very good circulation in my feet. I have been told that even though I have gone thru some very bad problems with my feet, things would have been worse if my circulation was bad. The wound that came extremely close to costing me my leg started as dry, cracked skin. I was doing what I was supposed to do and examined my feet daily. I also called my doctor on Day One and went to see him that very day. Unfortunately, things still got very out of hand.

When I did hyperbaric oxygen treatment, the only amputee in the group when I was there was not diabetic. She was very thin, not overweight. The very obese person there was not diabetic. The rest of us were diabetic and guess what – only one person in that group was Type 2. The rest of us were Type 1. The Type 2 was not overweight. In fact, he broke his foot golfing. That says to me that he was an active Type 2.

It makes me angry that not only are ads like this spreading misinformation but even endos who should know better are spreading misinformation telling mothers that their kid won’t have foot problems because the kid is Type 1.

I wish people would learn to use both facts and look at statistics before spreading false information. Rant over!
stats for wordpress

4 thoughts on “Obesity, Type 2 Diabetes, Amputations and Fake Ads

  1. Doctors said that I had to have a right leg amputation in 2010 after I developed a diabetic ulcer on the bottom of my foot. The surgeons (who make money doing amputations) were much more interested in amputation than in wound care. After spending six days in a hospital with surgeons telling me that my leg had to be amputated, I left the hospital. It took months of home health care, but the leg healed.

    I wonder how many unnecessary amputations are done each year.

    • I am glad you made the right choice Jim! I have a feeling that there are a lot more than what really need to be done. I often wonder if the first doctor that I saw was deliberately setting me up for an amputation.

  2. Hey, lets use lies fear and intimidation on the sick so they feel bullied and alienated instead of educating them in what to do to be healthy, control Diabetes, have a good life and be productive. The more the medical community uses these tactics the more people will not take control of their health.

Leave a Reply

