What I am Looking Forward to in 2012

I kind of missed December and now it is almost the end of January and I am just now doing my DSMA Blog Carnival post. This month’s question is:

What is the one thing you are looking forward to in 2012? (diabetes related)

The top thing that I am looking forward to this year is not diabetes related so I guess I can’t write about that! In thinking about where I am going to this year, I had to stop and think about where I have come from. When I filed for disability in the summer of 2005, I had no clue what the DOC was. I was a bean counter and spent long days reconciling accounts and preparing financial statements. Although I had a computer, I didn’t know the DOC was out there. I didn’t read any blogs, let alone write one.

When I did HBO in the fall of 2006, I became friends with the wife of one of the other patients. She would often be out in the waiting room when I was waiting for the hospital van to pick me up and we would talk and sometimes went to lunch together. One time she said her brother-in-law said, “Lantus is evil.” I knew I started having a lot of problems after I went on Lantus. In fairness to Lantus, I was never told that you could split it nor did I know how to do basal testing to know if I was taking the right dose. I was taking way more than what I needed to try and make it last 24 hours. Once things settled down with my foot, I started searching for problems with Lantus and that is how I found the DOC. Prior to that, I didn’t even know there was such a thing as a diabetes message board or that there was a whole community of people out there going thru some of the same things I was.

I know that I can’t change the past, but I do sometimes wonder how different my life would be today if I had found the DOC sooner. I have learned so much since finding the DOC. If Lolly had not made the statement about Lantus, it might have taken me even longer to land here.

I like being able to help people and it feels good when I get a message from someone saying that something I wrote helped them. I cry when I read some of what they have been thru because I know what it feels like.  For 2012, I would like to become a better advocate. Even if one PWD is out there that feels lost, that is one PWD too many. No one should have to feel lost. I know what it feels like and it is not fun. I know what it feels like to sit in front of a judgmental doctor that has no clue how to help you when you ask for help. It is easier for them to point the finger at you than to try to help you. I want every PWD to know there is help out there.

Last year, I joined both the Diabetes Advocates and the JDRF Advocacy group and hope to become even more involved in activities this year. I want every PWD out there to know that there is a whole new world lurking in their computer. That world doesn’t judge them because their A1cs aren’t the best. That world wants to give them a big hug and let them know that they aren’t alone. I want to help them find the DOC and get the same help that I found with the DOC. The DOC has literally saved my life and I want everyone out there to get the help they deserve.

Hug

“This post is my January entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival. If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetessocmed.com/2012/january-dsma-blog-carnival/“.
stats for wordpress

8 thoughts on “What I am Looking Forward to in 2012

  1. The DOC has made a difference in my life as well. I learned the ins and outs of starting on Symlin. That led to learning how to make the 3day sensors last 10 days and many other smaller tidbits. It gave me an outlet to share the wonders of my islet cell transplant and an avenue to try to help (JDRF advocacy). Its also been fun the few times that my online life has intersected my real life when I was able to meet a few of the people who I had admired only on line.

    • I haven’t met anyone in person yet, but that is a hope that I have. It is fun reading about the meetups other people have had. Thank you for sharing your islet cell transplant – it gives people hope for the future!

  2. Kelly, your blog is an absolute wealth of information. You communicate very well. I am so glad I met you during DBLOG week.
    Last Saturday at the Y there were 2 people talking about diabetes. I pretended to fiddle with my coat so I could eavesdrop on their conversation.
    The man said, “oh boy, that Lantus is poison – the more you take the more you need”.
    The lady agreed, saying she’d started out with 5 units and now was taking 20.
    I went over and said I’d taken insulin for 38 years. Apparently neither of them wanted any sort of discussion as the woman said she had somewhere to be and the man put his earbuds on and started peddling……..go figure.

    • Thanks Kathy, I am glad that I met you also! That is strange that they both took off. Usually when you meet another PWD, you want to talk to them. I did feel like the Lantus was poison and the more you took, the more you needed! That is a good way to describe it.

  3. Wonderful post Kelly! Like you – I didn’t know anything about the D-OC until 2008 – when I started looking for help with my insulin pump. Since then, I now work as a diabetic mentor – and help out others/meeting other D’s both online and in perrson – and still keep on learning new things. You don’t have to feel alone with coping with diabetes!!!

    • Thanks Anna! We found the DOC close to the same time – I was 2007. I am always learning new things too. Without the DOC, we probably would never have talked to each other since you live way up north!

Leave a Reply

