Quotation Inspiration: Mother Teresa

For day two of the Wego Health Writer’s Challenge, we were supposed to find a quote that inspires us and write about it. This was much easier than the Health Time Capsule post. My new theme for my blog has a widget for random quotes, and because I already had some of my favorite quotes on the bottom section of my blog, I didn’t even have to look very far to find one.

The quote I picked was “supposedly” said by Mother Teresa. Unfortunately, when I went to look for a picture of Mother Teresa, I looked at the official Mother Teresa website and discovered that there was a list of quotes attributed to her that she did not say or write. Of course, the quote that I liked was on that list. You can see that list here. The quote that inspires me is:

Rose

I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.

Even though that quote was not said by Mother Teresa, it is still a quote and I still like it so I am still going to write about it!

Life can be very challenging sometimes and I wonder how I am going to make it thru something. Going thru my foot wound was a huge challenge for me. When I had my first surgery in Pittsburgh, the doctor doing the surgery did not know for sure what he was going to do until he opened up my foot. In addition to the infection, I had also broken the bone in my foot about a month before. My bone had basically turned to mush to quote one of the doctors I saw in Pittsburgh. At that point I had already been dealing with my foot for a year.  The doctor doing the surgery called me a challenge. That is not exactly something you want to hear before surgery.  The day of my first surgery was the scariest day of my life.

Besides the big things that hit, it is a bunch of little things all at once. I have said quite a few times if certain things going wrong all at once would just happen one at a time with a week or two in between, I could handle them. No, everything has to happen boom, boom, boom!

As a diabetic, we can have extra challenges or worries. Even with good insurance, it is expensive to be diabetic. If you hate your job, you can’t just walk out because you have to be able to buy insulin to live. Stress can cause your blood sugar to go up or down so you have to worry about blood sugar on top of everything else you are worried about.

When I start getting overwhelmed, I have to remind myself that God won’t give me anything that I can’t handle. Sometimes I have been thru far worse than what I am upset over but things just hit at the wrong time. I keep reminding myself that I will get thru it and I can handle it. I know that God is looking out for me and that I will make it thru.

Please visit Wego Health’s Facebook page to see other Health Activists’ Quotation Inspiration posts.

 

2 thoughts on “Quotation Inspiration: Mother Teresa

  1. I love how you look this quote and related it to your own experiences. It is true that God only gives us what he knows we can handle. I often remind myself of this when I am struggling with something big so I can relate to yourself saying this quote when you feel like you cannot handle something. Everything always works out in the end, doesn’t it? God will always see us through. About a year and half ago, I lost my brother to cancer and I questioned God’s reasoning in that. It took time but I realized that even though he gave my brother what he couldn’t handle, God took him in his embrace and told him that he would end his suffering. If we are given something we cannot handle, God handles it for us. That is why life’s trials are a blessing. What the human spirit can endure is immeasurable and what it cannot, God will take in his loving embrace.

    • Thank you Lana. I am sorry that you lost your brother to cancer. I have lost several family members and a close friend to cancer, so I understand how hard that is. You are right, God will handle the things that we can’t handle. Everything does work out in the end!

Leave a Reply

