I Write About My Health Because …

Wego Health Writer’s Challenge

The prompt for Day 4 of the Wego Health Writer’s Challenge is “I write about my health because…”

Prior to when I started my blog two years ago, a friend of mine had been encouraging me to write about what I went thru with my foot, but I wasn’t interested in writing.  After I found the DOC (which is the diabetes online community for you non-D people), I found help in managing my blood sugar with gastroparesis.  Prior to my finding the DOC, I never received help from doctors.  I was very frustrated and felt hopeless.  With help from my friends in the DOC, I was able to turn things around.

When I went online and started talking to other people, I realized that I was not alone.  There were a lot of people out there just like me that felt alone also.  It felt good to talk to people and share ideas.  I am a left handed person that grew up in a right handed world and I know just because something works for one person doesn’t mean it will work the same way for you.  The more ideas that someone can get, the better chance they have of finding one that will work for them.  I wanted to be able to share the things I have learned with other people.

After I started my blog, I received a message from a woman with gastroparesis that made me cry.  She wanted to thank me because she found more help from me than she had from doctors – unfortunately, I know that feeling all too well.  Her doctors put her on Regular insulin – doctors seem to think Regular is the best insulin for people with gastroparesis because it is slow.  It is slow but it also stays in your system for 6 hours.  When you have a stomach full of food going no where, 6 hours is a long time to have insulin floating around in your body.  This woman had a very bad low and her doctors told her family that she deliberately caused the low.  I was angry when I wrote about it a year ago and I am still angry thinking about it now.  Doctors really have no clue how to help someone with gastroparesis.  I know if I had not found the DOC, I would still be lost today.

I have another reader going thru a foot wound and we have been talking about that stuff.  It feels really good to offer someone hope that he will make it thru his wound.  He said he has looked for other stories out there and they just aren’t there.  I know I looked when I was going thru mine and although I found pictures, there were no stories to go with those pictures.  He said that it felt like someone threw him a life preserver.  Talking to him gave me an idea because he was interested in seeing a timeline of pictures.  I only have the pictures that are posted here on my blog, but I am going to try to get more from the wound center.

It feels good to be able to help someone else, even if I had to go thru something bad to be able to offer that help.    Just hearing one person say that they felt what I wrote helped them makes everything I have been thru worth it.

Please visit Wego Health’s Facebook page to see other Health Activists’ “I write about my health because …” posts.

2 thoughts on “I Write About My Health Because …

  1. I love the fact that so many of us started for the same reason – we felt alone and we were so happy to find others on-line who knew what we were going through that we started blogging to be a part of it all. I really don’t know what I would do without our community, and I always hope to give back as much as I can. Thank you for all you do to share and remind me that I’m not alone!!

    • It is kind of sad that so many of us felt alone Karen. I am glad that we all found each other and can hopefully find even more people that are out there feeling alone.

Leave a Reply

