Keep Calm and Shoot Up

For Day 9 of the Wego Health Writer’s Challenge, the topic is “Keep calm and carry on. Write (and create) your own Keep Calm and Carry On poster. Can you make it about your condition? Then go to (http://www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk/) and actually make an image to post to your blog.”

Blood sugar 367When I thought about keeping calm and relating it to diabetes, I thought about high blood sugar.  Of course, the timing worked out pretty good with having Easter dinner last night and waking up  high this morning.  And no, I didn’t even have any Easter candy!

Although this morning’s high was caused by a big dinner with stuff I don’t normally eat every day, as most diabetics know, not all highs are caused by food.  Stress can cause high blood sugar.  Being ill can cause high blood sugar – I think sometimes our blood sugar tries to warn us something is wrong before we even realize it.  Even just crawling out of bed in the morning can cause your blood sugar to go up if you have something called dawn phenomenon.  Cold weather can cause you blood sugar to go up.  There is literally a long list of things that can cause your blood sugar to go up.

One thing that can help get your blood sugar back down to range is insulin.  So when you are high, keep calm and shoot up!

Keep calm and shoot up

 

Less than 2 hours after getting up this morning, the magic of Apidra kicked in and I am back down to 117!

Blood sugar 117

 

Please visit Wego Health’s Facebook page to see other Health Activists’ Keep Calm posts.

Wego Healh Activist Writers Challenge Day 9

 

4 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Shoot Up

  1. Great Keep Calm poster advice. I had trouble with Easter dinner too, but in the opposite direction. I guess I overestimated my carbs because I was low all evening, and even work up on the low side the next morning.

    • Thanks Karen! I really liked your don’t rage bolus one. Sorry that you had trouble with lows on Easter. That is probably worse because I hate lows when I ate too much and you have to eat or drink something just to get your BS up.

  2. Wow, that Apidra is some great stuff! I wish it worked so well for me. (And I shudder to think of what your blood sugar would’ve been THREE hours later!). If you didn’t crash even further, I just might have to give it another try! Love the poster, by the way.

Leave a Reply

