Dear 16 Year Old Me

Today’s prompt for Day 10 of the Wego Health Activist Writer’s Challenge is, “Dear 16-year-old-me. Write a letter to yourself at age 16. What would you tell yourself? What would you make your younger self aware of?”

Lois and Kelly BoothWhen I was a kid growing up, I always heard my mother and her sisters joking around saying that they wished they were 19 years old again and knew what they knew today.  Looking back, there are definitely a bunch of things that I would do differently if I had them to do over again, but if I hadn’t gone thru the things I did, then I would be a different person today.  Whether it was good or bad, everything that I have been thru has helped form me into the person I am today.

I think that if there is one thing that I wish that I had learned sooner in life was to have more confidence in myself.  In one way, it is ironic that because of neuropathy I am using a walker and feel more confident about who I am than when I was able to run 10 miles a day.

I had a couple interviews for a position as comptroller of a temp agency once.  I was practically guaranteed the job depending on the outcome of a test that I had to take.  They wanted to make sure that I was a good fit for the company.  Instead of calling and offering me the job, they put their ad back in the paper.  A couple weeks later, they called and offered me the job – I guess they didn’t get any better candidates for the position.  I was told that the test came back that I was intelligent, a hard worker and very detailed and accurate in my work.  But what they were concerned about was that I needed to be told that I was doing a good job.  I needed that pat on the back telling me everything was going OK.

My letter to my 16 year old self would be very simple:

Dear 16 year old Kelly,

Be confident in yourself.  You know that you are going to do a good job and do the best that you can do with everything.  You don’t need other people’s approval or pats on the back telling you that.

 

Please visit Wego Health’s Facebook page to see other Health Activists’ posts.

Wego Health Activists Writers Month Day 10

 

Leave a Reply

