Stream of Consciousness Day: Diabetes Sucks

Wego Health Activist Writer's Month Day 12

Today’s prompt for Day 12 of the Wego Health Activist Writer’s Challenge is, “Stream of Consciousness Day. Start with the sentence “_______”just write, don’t stop, don’t edit. Post!”

Diabetes sucks! I wanted to pick a subject that would just flow. Most days, I just accept that is the way it is and move on. You have to if you want to retain your sanity because you are stuck with it for the rest of your life so you may as well get used to it. Today is one of those days that diabetes sucks.

I woke up high for no reason. Correction dose didn’t work. I feel like crap. Now I have a million questions floating around in my head that I will probably never get an answer for. That is a day in the life of diabetes.

Is my insulin bad AGAIN? Do I feel like crap because I am getting sick so that made my blood sugar go up or do I feel like crap because my blood sugar is high.

Why is it that you can look at the exact same number on two different days and have two totally different reactions to it? One day after a day of really good numbers on your meter, you see 190 and are ticked off because you are high. Days like today if you see 190 on your meter you are jumping up and down for joy because you finally got under 200.

Why do we have to fight with pharmacies to get the juice that we need to stay alive? Last week, I had my doctor’s office call in Apidra vials for me since we can’t get any pens and I am out of all the gold samples my doctor had. I was very clear about how I needed it called in and yet the pharmacy questioned how much I use. He didn’t like my “it varies” answer. Some days I can dose what I need for my meal and that is it but days like today, you feel like you are injecting water and need more. Then I found out that my doctor did call it in right, and my insurance didn’t have a problem with me getting what I needed, it was the pharmacy that didn’t like it.

From the blogs I read, there seems to be a lot of that going around lately. Using insulin isn’t like taking a pill that you get 30 pills for 30 days. Every day is different and most days it is different because of things you have no control over.

I would like to go crawl back in bed and sleep thru the day – tomorrow will be a better day. I can’t do that because my blood sugar is high so I have to keep testing periodically and hope the new vial of insulin I opened decides to kick in. You can’t even get rest when you are sick.

Did I say that diabetes sucks sometimes?

Please visit Wego Health’s Facebook page to see other Health Activists’ posts.

 

4 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Day: Diabetes Sucks

  1. Ugh, I’m sorry you are having such a hard day. Diabetes uncertainties are the worst – I feel like I could deal better with a high if I could just figure out why the heck it’s happening (although maybe I would be just as frustrated). And I get so angry when I hear about pharmacies making us fight for insulin – I’ve never had the happen to me, but with new insurance it may just be something I’ll be dealing with soon too. 😦

    • Thanks Karen. You are right, I would probably still be frustrated even if I knew why I was high, but not knowing the reason seems to make it worse. Today is a much better day! Hopefully you won’t have any problems with your new insurance!

  2. I am fortunate in that my pharmacy never questions what the prescription is for. Neither does my insurance. I have an RX for 100u/day – and I never use that much currently – maybe when/if I get preganant, but not now. But it is noce to have a cushion – especially when seeing a brand spanking new bottle crash to the floor and shatter.

    • This was the first time I have had a problem Jen – it was a new person so that could have been part of the problem. You do need a cushion with that stuff. I haven’t had any shatter, but I did accidentally throw one in the dumpster once and there was no way I was going dumpster diving for it!

Leave a Reply

