One Great Thing

Today’s topic for Diabetes Blog Week is to talk about the one thing that we do spectacularly.

Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”.  But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit.  Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly!  Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes.  Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well!

3 AccuChek AvivasMy first response was to say nothing!  Sometimes you really just feel like you are shooting in the dark because what works today won’t work tomorrow.  I guess the one thing that I can honestly say that I do good with is testing my blood sugar.  I have gastroparesis and am also hypo unaware, so testing my blood sugar frequently helps catch things before they get too far out of line.  For me, that means testing my blood sugar hourly, which works out to about 18 times a day.

Prior to my finding the DOC in 2007, I was testing about 10 times a day so I did have data, I just did not know what to do with it.  Once I found the DOC and started figuring out ways to manage gastroparesis, I started testing even more.  Now I actually know what to do with the data and I think about what I need to do with each test.

The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is grab for my meter.  I head downstairs in the morning and make my coffee after taking the dog out.  After I drink my two cups of coffee, I test again before I eat.  Some mornings, I test again before I finish my coffee.  I always test before eating or taking insulin or doing things like getting a shower or walking over for my mail.  Other parts of the day, I try to test around the top of the hour, but it doesn’t always work out that way because sometimes life and whacky blood sugars get in the way.   But even if life gets in the way, I still have plenty of data to guide my decisions.

Used glucose test strips

You can read more One Great Thing posts here. Thank you to Karen at Bitter~Sweet for sponsoring Diabetes Blog Week!

.

.

.

.

10 thoughts on “One Great Thing

  1. Knowing what to do with that data is so important. I once had an endo tell me to stop testing so much because I was always making tiny corrections to the most recent reading that I never got to learn the big picture of what was really happening.

    • You are right Scott, you have to look at the big picture also. I had to learn not to correct every time, but I still check to make sure things aren’t getting too out of whack.

  2. So, Dexcom’s been telling me I’m a little low just now. But I’d already eaten something a few minutes ago and knew I couldn’t be. But – I read this and so – yup, went in the kitchen to test and it’s 79. Treated and will test again.
    I get tired of testing but – know it’s the only way to keep up with the d.

  3. Great post, Kelly! That’s awesome that you test so frequently. I always try to, but sometimes I start relying too much on my Dexcom. I guess I better get back to testing! 🙂

  4. This is sooo crucial to diabetes management, I’m happy you do this well. People without diabetes don’t understand how checking consistently can be challenging but I do and I commend you on doing it well 🙂

Leave a Reply

