One Thing to Improve

Today’s topic for Diabetes Blog Week is to pick one thing that we can improve on.

Yesterday we gave ourselves and our loved ones a big pat on the back for one thing we are great at. Today let’s look at the flip-side. We probably all have one thing we could try to do better. Why not make today the day we start working on it. No judgments, no scolding, just sharing one small thing we can improve so the DOC can cheer us on!

This is another one of the “I can’t pick just one” posts, but I will just pick one. After all, I need to keep these things short! I am sure mine will be a common thing, but my thing to improve is exercise. My treadmill croaked in Dec and it will be around July or later until I can afford to get a new one. I really enjoy using the treadmill and pretty much hate other forms of exercise.

Walking is OK, but that is so dependent on the weather. We did have some nice days right after my treadmill broke, but then it got really cold and I was done for. Lately we have had so much rain that it is impossible to walk. That is one thing I really like about a treadmill – you don’t have to worry about the weather. When it got cold, I thought I would walk up and down the stairs. I have some small weights – I think they are 1, 2 and 5 pounds. Since there are 2 of each weight, I thought if I carried each one up or down, depending where I left them the day before, then that would be at least 6 extra trips up the stairs. That didn’t last very long either.

I know I need to either go for a walk or do the stairs if the weather is crappy. Today is the day I will start.

You can read more One Thing to Improve posts here. Thank you to Karen at Bitter~Sweet for sponsoring Diabetes Blog Week!

.

.

.

.

12 thoughts on “One Thing to Improve

  1. I really need to get back to exercising too. I joined a gym about a month ago but haven’t started going yet. I haven’t gone out walking because it’s been raining so much. I used to do Yoga everyday for years, it improved every aspect of my diabetes, but I haven’t done that in a long time either. I guess it’s time to put aside all the excuses and just decide to do it.

    I’m with you, I have to get back to exercising. Maybe we could start by letting each other know what we did each day!! Just an idea!

      • I like that idea of keep each other accountable! I did stick to my decision to start getting my butt moving again. I am starting off slowely this time. I usually go 100% in right away and burn out as fast. Yesterday morning and again this morning I did a half hour of low key exercises with low intensity. I actually feel really good, not sore, so I’m hopeful that it will inspire me to keep going. How about you????

      • Liz, I was away yesterday so didn’t get to walk, but I did go this AM. I made myself a pact that I am not allowed on the computer in the mornings until I exercise. That should get me moving and the dog is happy going for a walk.You are right, it is not goo to start at 100% and get burned out. I am glad you felt going doing it!

  2. Kelly, I hate my treadmill, but love walks and workouts at the gym. So we are opposites here, but I think we can still get along, don’t you? Lol!! Have you considered a gym? There are machines at my gym which require sitting down while exercising. About 16 of the 22 exercises I do require a seated position. Any problems you may have with standing will not be an issue. You start the use of the machines with very light weights, and gradually add additional weights as time passes. Each machine is designed to exercise and strengthen a particular muscle group. I have been going to my gym for about 17 months. Three days per week, one hour each day. I do 12 of the exercises each visit, and alternate with a different 12 the next time. I have greatly increased my stamina and strength, and wish I started when I was in my early 40s. I have a trainer who meets with me once each month, she knows my handicaps.

    • Yes, we can still get along Richard! Getting to a gym is impossible because I can’t drive anymore. Small town public transportation is horrible and I have been pulling teeth out just trying to get to the library! Doing something that I can sit down for would be really good for when I can’t put weight on my foot. I need to move to a bigger town that has real buses and cabs so I can go places!

  3. Every little bit helps. (I really should get back to some sort of exercise, such as wheeling the baby around the neighborhood, now that the weather is nicer) But when its hot/cold/too rainy I tend to want to just stay inside & do nothing too.

Leave a Reply

