Introducing the AccuChek Insul-Viva!

I have a friend that calls me a delusional optimist so I decided to put the delusional part to good use for today’s post.

Today let’s tackle an idea inspired by Bennet of Your Diabetes May Vary.  Tell us what your Fantasy Diabetes Device would be?  Think of your dream blood glucose checker, delivery system for insulin or other meds, magic carb counter, etc etc etc.  The sky is the limit – what would you love to see?

When I read this prompt, the first thing that came to my head was a meter that is 100% accurate.  Who wouldn’t want that!  But then Sunday morning I got up and had to start a new Levemir pen out of a new box.  My blood sugar went up.  The usual questions started swirling in my head – is my blood sugar high because I am sick or do I feel sick because my blood sugar is high?  Am I really sick or is it the insulin?

I had 4 units left in my old pen and I use 3 units at 3 PM so used the old pen for my 3 PM shot.  My blood sugar went back to normal Sunday evening.  At 11, I had to use the new pen and I woke up high.  I had to fight highs all day so Monday night, I decided to use the last pen I had remaining in the old box.  After having two bad boxes of Levemir in January, I save the last pen and use one out of the new box, just in case.  Tuesday morning my blood sugar was up a little more than normal but came back down and has been staying that way.

I am going to try the pen again (I am writing this on Wednesday and plan to try the pen on Thursday morning).  In the process of wondering if it really is bad insulin or was something else going on, I started thinking about how nice it would be to have a meter that we could put a drop of insulin on and it would tell us if the insulin is good or not.  So I decided to turn my AccuChek Aviva into an AccuChek Insul-Viva!  No more game playing trying to decide whether or not your insulin is good!

 

AccuChek Insul-Viva Insulin Checker

I don’t have fancy picture fixing programs and my artistic skills are pretty crappy, but it is the thought that counts!

DISCLAIMER:  This is not a real machine, just the idea of a delusional optimist, but if you would like to steal my idea and make one, feel free!

You can read more Fantasy Device posts here. Thank you to Karen at Bitter~Sweet for sponsoring Diabetes Blog Week!

.

.

.

.

8 thoughts on “Introducing the AccuChek Insul-Viva!

  1. If you ever find someone who sells these things, let me know! I’ll take a dozen. I’ll give one to my local pharmacist, one to my mail-order pharmacy, one to my UPS driver, one to my insurance company… and I guess I’ll keep the rest.

    Then maybe they’ll stop wasting everyone’s time sending me expired, skunked insulin.

Leave a Reply

