My Diabetes Hero

Today is the last day of Diabetes Blog week and nothing like waiting until almost midnight to get this posted!  If you haven’t guessed, the topic is Diabetes Hero:

Let’s end our week on a high note and blog about our “Diabetes Hero”.  It can be anyone you’d like to recognize or admire, someone you know personally or not, someone with diabetes or maybe a Type 3.  It might be a fabulous endo or CDE.  It could be a d-celebrity or role-model.  It could be another DOC member.  It’s up to you – who is your Diabetes Hero??

FanfareMy Diabetes Hero is Richard Vaughn.  Richard was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes over 60 years ago.  He was diagnosed long before we had meters to test our blood sugar.  Like others during that time, he took insulin but really had no idea what his blood sugar was.  For some of you newer diabetics, meters did not really start coming out until in the 80s.  I was diagnosed in 1984 and my doctor had to fight my insurance company to get one for me.  That means Richard has spent half of his diabetic life without using a meter.

Back in the early days, Richard didn’t know about counting carbs or adjusting insulin. He has said that he was probably running high a lot back then.  Richard now has a pump and has come a long way since he was first diagnosed.  Richard has participated in the 50 year Joslin Medalist Study.  You can read what he wrote about that here.

I am very proud to be able to call Richard a friend and I really look up to him.  I am hoping that he can convince his wife to make a trip to PA so I can get to meet him in person.  You can find Richard on various message boards, including Diabetes Daily and TuDiabetes, using the name Richard157.  He is also active in a bunch of diabetes groups on Facebook and has a Facebook page that you can check out here.

You can read more Diabetes Hero posts here. Thank you to Karen at Bitter~Sweet for sponsoring Diabetes Blog Week!

.

.

.

.

3 thoughts on “My Diabetes Hero

  1. Kels – I think you know that I met Richard in person last fall. I have also read his book. He is a super cool guy and his wife Anita the quintessential supportive spouse.
    Richard is a great example of a diabetes hero!

    • Richard, sorry I took so long to reply – I was taking a mini vacation last week! I think that you are a true inspiration to all of us and I am glad to be able to know you. You are my hero!

Leave a Reply

