I Wish My Insurance Company Paid For

Juice and SmartiesThis month’s blog carnival topic is:

Diabetes can sure be expensive.  Insurance can help take away some of the financial burden, but sometimes the things we want, or even need, are not covered by insurance.  With that in mind, we turn back to our April 18th chat to Fill in the Blanks on the following sentence . . .

I wish my insurance company paid for _________because ______________.

I have been pretty fortunate and been able to get the things that I needed.  Even when I went thru a period without insurance, I was making enough money to be able to buy the things that I needed.  Of course, the kind of insulin we used was a lot cheaper back in those days.  I had to stop and think about something I use a lot of that is not covered by insurance.  I really didn’t have to think very hard!

I wish my insurance company paid for Glucolift glucose tablets because they are expensive and I need them.

Any kind of real glucose tablets are expensive.  A couple years ago, I switched from glucose tablets to Smarties after a friend told me that they had dextrose listed first in their ingredients and things with dextrose listed first raise your blood sugar faster.  If you compare the ingredients in Smarties to a container of glucose tablets, they are very similar.  A one pound bag of Smarties costs $2 compared to a $5 container of glucose tablets that have 50 tablets in.

I have been having a lot of allergy issues – all of a sudden, I am allergic to a lot of things I was never allergic to before, including clothing!  Those allergies seem to now include problems with food that I have never had before.  Lately, Smarties have been bothering me so I am starting to think that I am allergic to the dyes in them.  Something in them is definitely bothering me and I need to find something else to treat lows with.

A few months ago, I was able to get a sample of the Glucolift glucose tablets.  They are an all natural glucose tablet made without artificial colors or flavors.  They would be a much healthier alternative as a treatment for low blood sugar, but they are more expensive than the $5 container of regular glucose tablets.  I wish my insurance would cover them.

“This post is my May entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival.  If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetessocmed.com/2012/may-dsma-blog-carnival-2/

4 thoughts on “I Wish My Insurance Company Paid For

  1. I like the idea of just writing to see what the coverage conversation might be like… and I guess, if we don’t ask, how will they ever know we want it to be covered?

  2. My insurance pays for 4 test strips a day, unless my A1C is over 8 – then they’ll pay for more. Now isn’t that the most back-_ssed logic you’ve ever heard of. I supplement with generics from Target, Walgreens, or CVS.

  3. Can’t you use fruit juices, Kelly? So many people use juice boxes, which are easy to carry along with you.

    I wish my insurance would cover a Dexcom. I had to give up my CGM when my insurance policy changed, and I was no longer covered. I am buying one bix of sensors per year ($324) and using them at times when my schedule is going to be very different and I am expecting an unusual number of highs/lows.

Leave a Reply

