What a Waste of $$$$

AccuChek NanoAwhile ago, I saw Manny on TuDiabetes mention that the AccuChek Nano meter was supposed to be more accurate and fall within 15% accuracy rates.  I decided that I would try one so bought one back in August.  They were only $10 so it wasn’t like I had to spend a fortune to get one and there ended up being a rebate slip in the box.  After I got home and opened the box, there weren’t any test strips.  I can’t order strips until October and I hate ordering strips for a meter I am not sure about.  Been burned one too many times!

I decided to call Roche and see if they could send me some sample strips for the Nano.  They were nice enough to send me some sample strips.  During our conversation, I made the mistake of mentioning the night that I went low and had to call the EMTs.  I mentioned it because AccuChek does read low and some meters I have had would tell you that you were 80 when you were 30.  That was a big mistake!

Because I mentioned the word “low,” Roche is required by law to replace the meter and strips.  I don’t even know what box of strips I was using.  They had to ask all kinds of questions.  I told him that it was not the meter that caused the low nor was I saying anything was wrong with the meter.  When he was talking about getting the meter back, I told him that I did not want to give up my meter – it is consistent and I am not giving it up!  He said that they still had to send me one and if I did not want to send the other one back, then don’t. 

I was 39 when I called 911.  I had Smarties and juice but I did not have a Dexcom to know if I had two down arrows or what my blood sugar was doing.  I was 30 when the EMTs tested me but I did not test at the same time with my meter and compare it to theirs.  For all I know, my meter might have said 30 if I had done that, but I don’t know that. 

I could understand if I tested at 80 and zonked out or still called 911 and they tested me at 30 when my meter said 80.  Then that is a meter problem.  Calling at 39 and the EMTs testing you at 30 is not a meter issue. 

Don’t get me wrong, I understand why companies have to report problems to the FDA – I had a pump that malfunctioned and I get that.   I do not feel that a problem that has nothing to do with my low needs to a) be reported to the FDA and b) the meter and strips replaced. 

Unfortunately, Roche was required by law to send me a brand new AccuChek Aviva and a box of test strips.  Roche has to cover the cost of doing that (and we all complain about the cost of strips!) and the paperwork and the FDA has to process the paperwork.  That is just a waste of money. 

Writing this reminded me of an Maude adverse events report that I read on the FDA site a few years ago – of course I had to go find it!  Some woman decided to piece her Apidra pen with a fork and then glue the needle to the pen.  She obviously was not getting insulin and after a week of being sick, landed in the hospital.  Why was this even required to be reported to the FDA?  Should Sanofi be required to issue IQ and common sense tests before doctors are allowed to prescribe Apidra insulin?  Because a Novolog device was also involved in the “confusion,” that drug company got to enjoy some paper work.   I think the only thing that filing a report to the FDA for this incident did was waste a lot of people’s time. 

4 thoughts on “What a Waste of $$$$

Leave a Reply

