Did You Get Tested for Pre-Diabetes?

I get these phone calls from my insurance company and that was one of the questions that I was asked recently. My response was that I have been Type 1 for almost 29 years. What I really wanted to say was, if you had bothered to look at how much insulin and test strips you have bought me, you would realize that getting tested for pre-diabetes would be a waste of money.

Back in the summer, I picked up the phone and the insurance company’s computer asked me if my blood pressure was under control. I said no – I have problems with low blood pressure and also high because of the autonomic neuropathy. I am low more than I am high. Then I got the “all diabetics should be on an ace inhibitor” lecture. Funny they knew I was diabetic for that phone call. I wanted to ask if they were trying to kill me but that wasn’t one of the prompts!

After the lecture, they asked if I would talk to my doctor about going on an ace inhibitor. I said no. Then I heard that they may follow up with me in the future about this!

Yeah, go ahead and follow up with me again! I spend over half of my day with low blood pressure so I am not about to take a drug that is going to make it lower. That is why I stopped taking ace inhibitors. I really don’t feel the need to add them back. I was going to call them on that one. They really should not “assume” that because someone has a problem with their blood pressure it is high blood pressure. If they do follow up with me, I am going to call them and ask them if they are trying to kill me!

 

6 thoughts on “Did You Get Tested for Pre-Diabetes?

  1. The JDRF in Minnesota has a support group for Adult Type 1’s, so they’re doing an increasingly good job of knowing that we’re out there.

    About once a year my insurance gives me the option of getting telephone support care for my diabetes. Fortunately they listen to me when I say “no thanks”.

    • That is good that MN JDRF recognizes adult T1’s Laddie! I did read that is supposed to be the way it is, but I guess that doesn’t always filter down to the local levels.

      I haven’t had that offer yet, but i am sure I will at some point. I will be saying, “no thanks” also!

  2. You are right Natalie, those calls are designed for the mass audience! I worry that someone that doesn’t know better will really think that they need that stuff without knowing what it can do.

    I have heard that about the JDRF numerous times. Supposedly those in the top want to change that, but sadly, most of the local organizations don’t follow suit. It is very sad that they aren’t interested in us. The kids they are helping today will grow up and think the same thing that we are thinking about them.

    I have a d-friend that was diagnosed at about 2 and she was overweight as an adult (she recently lost a lot of weight). I don’t think any of us are immune from gaining weight (although I wish I were!). Someone recently posted about a meeting someplace and Dr. Hirsch said a large percentage of T1s are overweight.

  3. Yeah, well, you KNOW that such calls, whether robotic or human, are designed for the mass audience, of which you are not one. I get mail and calls all the time telling me how to take care of my Type 2 diabetes. There isn’t any other kind, if you are an adult, is there? That’s why I wish my local JDRF would take some time off of fundraising (for children, of course), and do some media education on Type 1 in adults. Just to raise awareness among the public that 1) Type 1 children DO grow up to become adults (thank Dr. Banting et. al. for that), and 2) you can’t judge a diabetic by their shape or weight. I’ve met, in person, several Type 1’s who were diagnosed in DKA during childhood who have grown up to be shaped just like everyone else in our society, i.e. not willow thin, and carrying their weight around their middle. Or in their hips and thighs, for that matter. I asked the JDRF rep about representing adults with T1, and she clearly wasn’t interested. All she was interested in was planning fundraising events, and activities for children. Period. Kinda sad! 😦

Leave a Reply

