Why I Write About My Health

Wego Health National Blog Posting MonthI am participating in Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month. Today’s topic is “Why I Write About My Health.”

That is an easy one! I have gastroparesis and prior to finding the DOC at the end of 2007, I really had no clue how to manage blood sugar with gastroparesis. I knew the diet to follow but as far as blood sugar, I was clueless. At the time, I was testing my blood sugar at least 10 times a day. I had data but did not know what to do with it. I knew I had a problem but did not know how to fix it. Doctors had no idea how to help me. When I was in the hospital for my foot, the doctor managing my blood sugar told me he was baffled by my blood sugar. I was really on my own and very lost.

Computer woman with coffeeOnce I found the DOC, I learned all kinds of things that I did not know before. I had been at this “diabetes” thing for almost 25 years when I found the DOC,  and I felt like a newbie when I started reading stuff online.  I never heard of Dr. Bernstein, John Walsh or Gary Scheiner.  I am embarrassed to say that I knew nothing about carb counting or correction ratios.  I switched the insulin I was using from Lantus and Humalog to Levemir and Apidra. I started breaking up my meal time shots. I learned more about pumping and even took a stab at that. I got a CGMS. All the changes I have made were due to things I learned from my fellow diabetics. All the changes that I have made have contributed to an improvement in my blood sugar control. I hate to think where I would be today if I had not found the DOC.

Diabetes is not a “one sized fits all” disease. Just because something works for me doesn’t mean it will work for you. I think the more ideas that someone has to try different things, the more chance they have of finding a solution to their problem.  That is why I think it is important that we all share with each other, not only the good things but the bad things also.  That is how we learn.

Prior to when I first landed on my first message board, I felt lost. I share the things that I have been thru and the things that have worked for me so someone else might find them and not feel as lost as I did.

Please visit Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month Facebook page to read other activist’s posts.

 

6 thoughts on “Why I Write About My Health

Leave a Reply

