Weirdest Thing About My Health

Wego Health National Blog Posting MonthI am participating in Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month. Today’s topic is “The Weirdest Thing About My Health”

I N C O N S I S T E N C Y

Some non-d people think that food is the only thing that affects our blood sugar. A lot of things besides food can send our blood sugar in any direction – stress, hormones, illness, medicines, changes in weight and even weather just to name a few. A lot of people think that all you have to do is eat right and your blood sugar will be perfect. That is just false.

Life is painWhat really drives me nuts is that I can do the same exact thing 10 different times and get 10 different results. There is no consistency to what your blood sugar wants to do. What works one day won’t work the next. I am someone that loves consistency and I certainly don’t get that with blood sugar.

A couple years ago, I was having a problem with a lot of bad lows when my thyroid decided to take a nose dive. Someone made a comment about my lows and I pointed out what had happened for five days:

I woke up about the same blood sugar every morning. I did the exact same thing every morning, including what I ate. Two days I stayed in range, two days I went high and one day I went low and passed out. Please tell me what I should change? If I ran higher, I would have 1 normal day and 4 high days then I would be criticized for being high. You can’t win!

I try to do the best I can with what I have. I test frequently and although I have carb ratios and a correction factor, I watch and go with the flow. There is nothing else you can do!

Please visit Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month Facebook page to read other activist’s posts.

 

2 thoughts on “Weirdest Thing About My Health

Leave a Reply

