Through A Glass Darkly

Through a Glass DarklyI am participating in Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month.  Today’s topic is, “Book Report.  What’s your favorite book and how can you tie it to your health of life?”

My favorite book is Through a Glass Darkly by Kathleen Koen.  I first read this book back in the 90s after hearing about it from a cousin.  It is a historical fiction and placed in the 1700s.  The main character is Barbara, a young girl living with her grandmother.  Her family had been wealthy but lost a lot of their money.  The book follows her thru adulthood.

Her mother basically didn’t want to raise kids but wanted to sell off Barbara.  One of the men she was interested in was an older man, Roger, who Barbara was in love with – she knew him thru her grandfather.  Roger was not interested in Barbara herself, but did want the dowry that she came with.  They do get married, but Barbara’s life really falls apart around her.   Although she is close to her grandmother and brothers and sisters, she is surrounded by a lot of people that just want to take advantage of her.  Several of the people close to her died.  Through all the tragedy around her, she manages to keep trudging along.

Sometimes I feel like I am looking into a dark glass – even more so lately with this newest foot ulcer.  I am not sure what is around me or who to trust anymore. It seems like everyone is more interested in how much money they can make off my foot instead of doing what is best for me.   I feel like I am walking blindly ahead.  I don’t know what lies ahead of me.  I am not sure if I fall whether anyone will be there to catch me. 

This was in the forward of the book:

Corinthians 13:11-13

21st Century King James Version (KJ21)

11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

12 For now we see through a glass, darkly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; but then shall I know, even as also I am known.

13 And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.

 

Wego Health National Health Blog Posting MonthPlease visit Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month Facebook page to read other activist’s posts.   

2 thoughts on “Through A Glass Darkly

    • Thanks Trisha! I am trying not to give up, but some days are very frustrating. Especially when doctors are more interested in chopping your foot off than trying to save it.

      I will shoot you an email to see what is going on!

Leave a Reply

