Life and Death

Dancing in the moon

I am participating in Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month.  Today’s topic is, “Write about:  Life and Death.”  I am also participating in Mike Durbin of My Diabetic Heart, Diabetes Blessings Week.  I am going to attempt to turn the Wego Health prompts into Diabetes Blessings! 

Back in November, 2010, I wrote a post called I Choose To Live.  I talked about my friend Dave who was dying from cancer.  Dave died in February, 2011.  In that post, I shared part of an email that he sent to me and other friends of his: 

She did not give many project of time but told me previously that if this new chemotherapy did not work, she would estimate 3 to 6 months so with the chemotherapy being canceled, I am just not sure where I stand at this point in time but I can assure you that I am getting weaker as the days go by.

I am not planning on a funeral but rather a celebration of life. My favorite hymn is Oh Jesus I Have Promised To Serve Thee To The End. I have made that promise and I intend on keeping it. We will take each day, one day at a time.

Diabetes sucks.  I have complications because of diabetes and that sucks too.  I don’t know what is going to happen to me because of my foot, but I am alive.  I can’t do some of the things I used to do like drive or walk without a walker, but I am alive.  Diabetes is expensive.  I worry about how I am going to pay for things even with insurance, but I am alive.     I hate having to see doctors all the time just to get the liquid gold that I need to stay alive, but I am alive. 

My friend Dave is dead.  I lost four aunts and uncles to cancer.  They aren’t coming back.  I can’t send Dave a funny joke that I know he would enjoy – he had a great sense of humor.  You could count on him for jokes.  When we worked together, he was always telling jokes.  If you saw Dave, you would know that he would have a good joke to tell.  But I will never hear Dave tell a joke again.  I know I won’t open my email to find a joke from him.  He isn’t coming back.  He is dead.

Diabetes Blessings WeekMy blessing is that I am alive.  As I said, diabetes sucks, but I stand a much better chance of staying alive than my friends and relatives did with cancer.  Death is final. There is no coming back.  Life isn’t permanent, but we are here right now.  If we die, we aren’t coming back.  Make the most of what you have today, you don’t know if you will have another chance tomorrow. 

Wego Health National Blog Posting MonthPlease visit Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month Facebook page to read other activist’s posts.  Also visit My Diabetic Heart’s Diabetic Blessings Week page to check out other Blessings posts. 

4 thoughts on “Life and Death

Leave a Reply

