Thyroid and Mental Health

Diabetes Blessings WeekI am participating in Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month. Today’s topic is, “Write about mental health.” I am also participating in Mike Durbin of My Diabetic Heart, Diabetes Blessings Week. I am going to attempt to turn the Wego Health prompts into Diabetes Blessings!

A lot of diabetics also have thyroid problems so I thought I would talk about that in relation to mental health. Depression and suicidal thoughts are both listed on the long list of hypothyroid symptoms at Stop the Thyroid Madness. I know when my thyroid was out of whack, someone would say hello and I would start to cry!

Sadly, a lot of doctors are clueless about thyroid. When a patient comes in and mentions being depressed, instead of running the right thyroid tests and getting the thyroid optimized, a doctor would rather hand out a script for an antidepressant. If you get your thyroid optimized, then chances are, you won’t need that antidepressant. I want to be clear here and I am NOT saying that thyroid is the only cause of depression. But if you are not normally depressed and are not going thru some life problems that might cause depression, you might want to take a look at your thyroid.

Like diabetes, some of the best knowledge about thyroid comes from talking to other thyroid patients. Although I had thyroid problems for about 10 years at the time, back in 2009, my thyroid really took a nose dive. I got online and learned what optimal ranges were. The doctor I had at the time pretty much only looked at TSH – mine was over 4 but she told me my thyroid was fine because my TSH was within lab ranges. As she was talking to me, I had the tests that she did in my lap. My Free T4 was so low that it wasn’t even registering a number. Optimal should be about midway of the lab range. She didn’t bother to test my Free T3. My TPO was over 3000 on a scale of 0-9 yet “my thyroid was fine!” I knew not to accept that my thyroid was fine. I went to a different doctor and when I took those exact same tests with me, I was told that my numbers were horrible.

Stop the Thyroid Madness also has a Facebook page that you can interact with other thyroid patients. Like diabetes, you should learn as much as you can about thyroid. Most of you would not accept your doctor telling you that an A1c of 10 was “normal blood sugar” so why would you accept that with your thyroid? Don’t!

My blessing is that I was able to find help for my thyroid. Once I found a doctor that understood thyroid, I started getting my thyroid labs back to optimal ranges. I started feeling like a human being again. The daily crying stopped. I was me again!

Wego Health National Blog Posting MonthPlease visit Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month Facebook page to read other activist’s posts. Also visit My Diabetic Heart’s Diabetic Blessings Week page to check out other Blessings posts.

 

2 thoughts on “Thyroid and Mental Health

  1. I agree with you. Thyroid problems are often overlooked as lifestyle choices (weight) or a “just is” where a doctor prescribes a pill to help an issue without seeing if it is truly a singular issue or sypmtom of something bigger. It is an overall issue with doctors where they don’t look past their nose. I’m glad they found your thyroid issue. I have family with that and know that they felt out of control until they found out why it was happening and getting the proper treatment.

    • Thanks Betty! Yeah, a lot of doctors do think it is just lifestyle problems or there is no reason for you being so fatigued. I am glad that your family was able to get proper treatment also – I know that can be hard to do sometimes.

Leave a Reply

