Pizza Day: Low Carb and Gluten Free Stress Reliever!

I am participating in Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month. I am not using the prompts again today.

It has been a very frustrating day – I will write about everything on another day, but I am going to make pizza for dinner. If I don’t get started soon, it is going to be a very late dinner!

Cauliflower Pizza

A friend of mine posted this link to a recipe for pizza in Facebook a few weeks ago. Thank you Linda! I made it earlier in the month – according to the date stamp on the picture, it was November 6th. I posted the recipe on TuDiabetes right after making it and kept meaning to post it here also. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was really, really good. You make the crust out of cauliflower. You would obviously put what toppings you want on yours. I am more of a pepperoni gal so that is all I used.

You can see the recipe here. She linked to her original post in the one that I linked to. The original pizza is a smaller, 4 slice pizza and the one in the link is 8 slices. I made the 4 slice but ended up cutting it into 6. I redid the carb count based on the things that I used and mine had 4.4 grams of carbs per slice. If you don’t know how to make cauliflower rice, there is a link to her article how to do that in the original post also.

I have an old salad shooter and used the shredding plate in that to grind up the cauliflower. It seemed that almost half of the cauliflower “disappeared” in the microwave so make sure you have enough for your crust. In reading down thru the comments, several people talked about it sticking to the pan so she suggested using parchment paper – I did that and didn’t have any sticking.  She also suggested letting the crust get cool before putting the toppings on and cooking it with those.  She said it wouldn’t be as soft.  I didn’t want to wait and mine was soft.  I know I won’t be waiting tonight either.  Maybe next time!

I highly recommend this pizza if you like pizza and want to watch the carbs or gluten. It played nice with my blood sugar too! She has a bunch of other recipes on her site. I am going to try the lasagna next.

Wego Health National Blog Posting MonthPlease visit Wego Health’s National Health Blog Post Month Facebook page to read other activist’s posts.

 

One thought on “Pizza Day: Low Carb and Gluten Free Stress Reliever!

  1. Hmm… I had “regular” pizza for dinner tonight and I’m now paying for it (sometimes the dual-wave bolus works, and sometimes my carb-guess is way off). If only I’d seen this post earlier…

Leave a Reply

