A Human Pump – Bad Box of Levemir AGAIN

Last January, I had some bad Levemir.  With that bad box, Novo Nordisk first had my pharmacy give me another box and that was also bad.  The box they shipped me was good.

Levemir Pen

Since then I have been saving the last pen in the box to use after I use the first pen out of a new box.  I forgot to order my pens before I had to use that last pen so no extra pen.  Of course, that had to be the box that was bad!  I opened the new box Sunday morning and my blood sugar started going up and corrections weren’t working.

To make sure it was the Levemir, I took Apidra every 2 hours to equal my Levemir dosage.  My blood sugar went back to normal.  Monday morning, I tried the Levemir again and my blood sugar went up again.

I called Novo Nordisk and they sent a replacement box to my pharmacy.  It was after 5 when it got there yesterday so I waited until 11 to take it at my normal time.  I woke up about 3:30 AM and was 135.  It kept going up and it would come down a little but not the 70s and 80s I was seeing with Apidra.

The box was not in a special package or anything with my name on so I decided to compare lot numbers.   The box from Sunday was BZF0368 and the one they supposedly sent was BZF0423.  Because the lot numbers are so close,  I think the pharmacy just stuck the box they received in the fridge and grabbed a box when my mother picked them up and I didn’t get the replacement box that came from Novo Nordisk.

I called Novo Nordisk again this morning.  The person I talked to said that they have no way of knowing what lot number was sent to me.  I don’t buy that.  She also told me that they have no way of finding out what lot number gets sent to me.  And this is a drug company? She said she would look into it and get back to me.  I asked her when and she didn’t know if it would be today or not.  I reminded her that I am Type 1 diabetic and sort of need insulin or I am going to die.  I went thru this last year with them telling me it would be 3-5 days to get the replacement!   I asked to talk to a supervisor.

The supervisor’s solution was to call the pharmacist and ask them not to open the packaging so I know that it was from them.  That would be fine except a) people don’t follow instructions and b) the pharmacy I use has several stores and rotate people around.  Who is there today won’t be there tomorrow.  The supervisor also insisted they have no way to find out the lot numbers.  I personally find that crazy and don’t buy it.

I did call my doctor’s office to see if they had a sample Levemir pen and they don’t.

Needless to say, I am exhausted.   I haven’t had much sleep since I got up Sunday morning and get to do another night of hearing the alarms every 2 hours!

2 thoughts on “A Human Pump – Bad Box of Levemir AGAIN

  1. Yesterday, I tossed out a half-full vial of Novolog which was suspect (I got tired of trying to figure out what was wrong the last few days so I changed everything).

    If I had one wish, it would be for an insulin-potency test: either built into the vial/pen (triggered by temperature changes) or in the form of a test strip. CGMs, closed-loop systems, bolus calculators, logging apps, integrated devices….. none of that matters if the insulin’s no good.

Leave a Reply

